DUI charges are taken seriously and can result in stiff penalties and hefty fines. Accused individuals face time in jail, significant fines and the potential loss of their driver's license when facing DUI charges. In addition, there can be many negative impacts on the accused individual's life related to DUI charges including increased insurance rates and other personal and professional consequences. As a result, it is helpful to be familiar with DUI charges in Pennsylvania and how to defend against them when facing them.
The potential DUI penalties the accused individual faces increase with the number of DUI offenses they have. For a first DUI offense in Pennsylvania, the accused individual faces probation for six months, a $300 fine and may be required to complete traffic safety school. Penalties increase as the accused individual faces more DUI charges. As an example, for a third DUI offense the accused individual may face up to 2 years in prison.
The minimum license suspension or revocation penalties can also increase with the number of offenses. For the first offense, the accused individual may not receive a license suspension or revocation; for the second and third DUI offenses, the accused individual may face a one-year license suspension or revocation of their license. Additionally, accused individuals facing DUI charges may also be required to attend alcohol treatment and have an alcohol assessment and may be required to install an ignition interlock device on their car.
DUI penalties can also increase the more severe the DUI charge. Because DUI charges can create significant and lasting consequences for accused individuals, it is important to be familiar with the charges you are facing the possible defenses to those charges if you have been accused of a DUI in Pennsylvania.